Board of Trustees (BoT)

CRCICA has a Board of Trustees (BoT) consisting of ten (10) members at least and thirty (30) members at the most appointed in consultation with AALCO from amongst eminent African and Asian personalities specialized in the fields of international arbitration, law, business, trade, investment and international relations.

The BoT may include up to 20% of its members from outside the Afro-Asian Region from amongst figures specialized in the aforementioned fields. CRCICA’s current Board of Trustees is composed of 23 members chaired by Dr. Nabil Elaraby and includes two vice-chairmen from Egypt and Saudi Arabia and 20 other eminent members from Bahrain, Cameroon, Chile, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Kuwait, Lebanon, Nigeria, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Somalia and Spain.

The term of the BoT is four years, which may be renewed once for a similar term, unless otherwise determined due to special circumstances. The BoT carries out the functions provided for in the By-laws of the Board of Trustees. This includes meeting once a year to oversee CRCICA’s caseload and in particular the following functions:

  1. Appointing the Director of the Centre in consultation with AALCO for a four-year term, which may be renewed once for a similar term, unless otherwise determined due to special circumstances;
  2.  Setting down the general policy for achieving the objectives of the Centre; and
  3. Ratifying the Auditor’s report for each fiscal year.


Dr. Nabil Elaraby - The Chairman

Dr. Nabil Elaraby



Prof. Dr. Mohamed Abdel Raouf

H.H. Prince Dr. Bandar Bin Salman Bin Mohamed AL SAUD

H.H. Prince Dr. Bandar Bin Salman Bin Mohamed Al Saud


Georges Abi-Saab 2

Prof. Dr. Georges Abi-Saab

Dr. Abdullah Al Hayyan Pic

Dr. Abdullah Al Hayyan


Shaikha Haya Rashed Al Khalifa

Dr. Mohamed Sameh Amr

Prof. Dr. Mohamed Sameh Amr

Ziad-Bahaa-Eldin- Pic

Dr. Ziad Bahaa-Eldin

Sr Cremades 2021

Prof. Bernardo M. Cremades


Coun. Mahmoud Fahmy


Mr. Taher Hozayen

Gaston Kenfack Douajni

Dr. Gaston Kenfack

Vladimir Khvalei 2

Mr. Vladimir Khvalei


Dr. Philippe Leboulanger

Nayla Comair-Obeid

Prof. Dr. Nayla Comair Obeid


Chief Christopher Bayo Ojo

Alain Pellet

Prof. Alain Pellet


Prof. Dr. Hani Sarie-Eldin

Michael E. Schneider

Mr. Michael E. Schneider

Fathi Waly

Prof. Dr. Fathi Waly


Judge Dr. Abdulqawi Yusuf

Ms Quin Yuxiu

Ms. Qin Yuxiu


Prof. Nassib Ziadé