UNCITRAL Working Group II (Dispute Settlement)

CRCICA was represented by Dr. Mohamed Hafez in the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) Working Group II (Dispute Settlement) at its Seventy-third session which took place in the United Nations New York on 22–26 March 2021, whereby the draft provisions on “expedited arbitration” was discussed yet again.

The Working Group at its Seventy-third session was composed of all State members of the Commission. The Working Group successfully discussed all Seventeen (17) draft provisions on “expedited arbitration”, along with the model arbitration clause for expedited arbitration and the application of the UNCITRAL Rules on Transparency to expedited arbitration, as well as some consideration of the draft texts of international mediation rules. All the members attended the sessions remotely through the UNCITRAL’s platform ‘”. From 22 to 25 March, following the sessions, there were informal consultations by the members of the working group via Microsoft Teams. The Working group was chaired by Mr. Andrés Jana (Chile) and its rapporteur was Mr. Takashi Takashima (Japan).

The Working Group included the following countries: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United States of America, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam and Zimbabwe.

The Working Group also included representatives of the following institutions:

(a) United Nations System: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).

(b) Intergovernmental organization: Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank, First Cycle of Branch Mentoring Programme Interparliamentary Assembly of the Commonwealth of Independent States (IPA CIS) and the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA).

(b) Non-governmental organizations: Alumni Association of the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot (MAA), American Bass Association (ABA), Arbitral Women, Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce (SCC), Asian International Arbitration Centre (AIAC), Beijing Arbitration Commission/Beijing International Arbitration Center (BAC/BIAC), Belgian Centre for Arbitration and Mediation (CEPANI), Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (CRCICA), Center for International Investment and Commercial Arbitration (CIICA), Center for International Legal Studies (CILS), Centro De Estudios De Derecho, Economia Y Politica (CEDEP), Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIARB), China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT), China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC), European Law Students’ Association (ELSA), Forum for International Conciliation and Arbitration (FICA), Georgian International Arbitration Centre (GIAC), German Arbitration Institute (DIS), Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC), Hong Kong Mediation Centre (HKMC), Inter-American Arbitration Commission (IACAC-CIAC), Inter-American Bar Association (IABA), International Academy of Mediators (IAM), International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA), International Insolvency Institute (III), International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR), International Law Institute (ILI), Madrid Court of Arbitration, Miami International Arbitration Society (MIAS), New York Bar Association, New York International Arbitration Center (NYIAC), Nigerian Institute of Chartered Arbitrators (NICARB), Queen Mary University of London- School of International Arbitration, Swiss Arbitration Association (ASA), Ukrainian Arbitration Association (UAA) Union Internationale Du Notoriat (UINL) and Vienna International Arbitration Centre (VIAC).

 Posted in News
 Published on Mar 22 2021

Related News

The total number of arbitration cases filed before CRCICA until 30 June 2014 reached 977 cases. In the second quarter…
As of July 2020, the Egypt Branch established the Branch Mentoring Program. This is the first mentorship program initiated by…
On 22 September 2020, CRCICA was a supporting organization and was represented by Dr. Ismail Selim at the China Arbitration…
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
Copyright 2022 Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration. All Rights Reserved.